## **Department Details**

Department name:	BUSINESS IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT BOARD #21 (DOWNTOWN MANAGEMENT DISTRICT)				
Туре:	Board or Commission				
Meeting time:					
Meeting location:					
Primary contact:					
Description:	<b>PURPOSE:</b> Section 66.1109, Wis. Stats., allows cities to create one or more business improvement districts to develop, manage and promote the district. They are further permitted to establish an assessment method to fund the activities to be undertaken by the district. All of the foregoing are described in an annual operating plan which is prepared by the district board and approved by the Common Council. The operating plan also describes the amount of the special assessment to be levied against each property in the district.				
	District #21 encompasses the city of Milwaukee's downtown area, bounded by N. 4th and				

District #21 encompasses the city of Milwaukee's downtown area, bounded by N. 4th and 10th Sts. to the west; W. St. Paul Ave., the Menomonee River and W. Clybourn St. to the south; Lake Michigan to the east; and Schlitz Park to the north.

**COMPOSITION:** Seventeen members, all appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Common Council.

1) Three members are representatives of each of the three largest (as measured by assessed valuation) multi-tenant office buildings in the District; 2) Two members are representatives of the fourth- through ninth- largest (as measured by assessed valuation) multi-tenant office buildings in the District; 3) Three members are representatives of any multi-tenant office buildings in the District; 4) Three members are representatives of owner-occupied or singletenant buildings in the District with assessed valuations in excess of \$5,000,000 with one member of this category being a representative of the Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance Company; 5) One member must be owners or operators of street-level retail businesses located in the District (which may include restaurants), 6) Two members must be representatives of hotels located within the District, but these hotels may not be owned or controlled by the same entity or individuals, 7) One member is a representative of a taxexempt entity making a voluntary contribution to the District of not less than \$76,850 in the year 2014, which minimum contribution increases each year by the proportionate increase in the District operating budget for that year; 8) Two members are "at large" members who may not represent any particular constituency but who must be an owners or occupants of real property located within the District used for commercial purposes. In addition to the composition requirements set forth above, one member of the Board must also be a member of the board of directors of the Westown Association as long as the Westown Association remains in existence and one member must also be a member of the board of directors of the East Town Association, as long as the East Town Association remains in existence. All members serve 3-year terms.

A member continues to serve after the completion of his or her term until reappointed or until a successor has been appointed.

**CREATING AUTHORITY:** Sec. 66.1109, Wis. Stats.; Common Council File Number 970900; amended by Common Council File Numbers 110863 and 130591 **SALARY:** None

**STAFFING:** Ken Little, Commercial Corridor Manager, Kenneth.little@milwaukee.gov, 414-286-5617; Beth Weirick, Downtown Management District, 600 E. Wells St., 220-4705.

Name		Title	Start Date	End Date	
Annette Adams Appointed By:	Mayor Cavalier	Member Johnson	10/19/2022	10/19/2025	*
Conor Ward Appointed By:	Mayor Tom Bar	Category 7 rett	1/7/2022	1/7/2025	*
David Knight Appointed By:	Mayor Cavalier	Member Johnson	1/5/2024	1/5/2027	*
George Meyer Appointed By:	Mayor Cavalier	Member Johnson	1/5/2023	1/5/2026	*
John Creighton Appointed By:	Mayor Tom Bar	Member rett	5/18/2021	5/18/2024	*
Joseph Ullrich Appointed By:	Mayor Cavalier	Member Johnson	6/28/2022	6/28/2025	*
Kevin Behl Appointed By:	Mayor Cavalier	Member Johnson	1/8/2024	1/8/2027	*
Kevin Kennedy Appointed By:	Mayor Tom Bar	Category 4 (NML) rett	11/5/2020	11/5/2023	*
Kim Guerrero Appointed By:	Mayor Tom Bar	Category 1 rett	1/7/2022	1/7/2025	*
Mark Flaherty Appointed By:	Mayor Tom Bar	Category 6 rett	10/7/2020	10/7/2023	*
Patricia Keating Appointed By:	i Kahn Mayor Cavalier	Member Johnson	12/20/2022	12/20/2025	*
Phyllis Resop Appointed By:	Mayor Cavalier	Member Johnson	6/24/2022	6/24/2025	*
Scott Welsh Appointed By:	Mayor Tom Bar	Category 3 rett	1/21/2022	1/21/2025	*
Steven Bartelt Appointed By:	Mayor Cavalier	Member Johnson	10/4/2023	10/4/2026	*
Susan Johnson Appointed By:	Mayor Cavalier	Member Johnson	1/8/2024	1/8/2027	*
Tammy Babisch Appointed By:	า Mayor Tom Bar	Member rett	7/29/2021	7/29/2024	*
Thomas Irgens		Member	3/29/2023	3/29/2026	*

LAST UPDATED: January 6, 2021

## Appointed By: Mayor Cavalier Johnson

<sup>\*</sup> indicates extended term